What are the 3 branches of government and what do they do?

Government is a vital part of society and without it, society would fail because they are the most powerful system that determines the affairs of the state, resolve conflicts, and is responsible for the lives of people within it. From the actions of the president to the actions of the various branches of government, each branch has a different role, power, and responsibilities. This article will answer the question of what are the three branches of government, what they do, and how they work together.

What are the 3 branches of government and what do they do?

The three branches of the United States government are the following:

  • The Executive Branch
  • The Legislative Branch
  • The Judicial Branch

The Executive Branch

The Executive Branch is made up of the president, the vice president, and the cabinet members. This branch exercises the power of the state and is responsible for the day-to-day running of the nation. 

The executive branch conducts diplomacy with other nations and the President has the power to negotiate and sign treaties and agreements with other nations and organizations outside the country

The President is also liable for carrying out and upholding the regulations composed by Congress and, with that in mind, designates the secretaries of the government organizations, including the Cabinet. 

The Vice President is likewise essential for the Executive Branch, prepared to accept the Presidency should the need emerge.

The Cabinet and autonomous government organizations are liable for the everyday implementation and organization of administrative regulations. 

These divisions and organizations have missions and obligations as generally unique as those of the Environmental Protection Agency, the Social Security Administration, and the Securities and Exchange Commission.

The Legislative Branch

The Legislative Branch is made up of the House of Representatives, the Senate, and the President. The Legislative Branch is the one that makes the laws that govern the country. 

It is also responsible for passing the laws that the President has to sign. The Legislative Branch is also the one that has the power to check the power of the President and thus has the power to impeach them. 

The Legislative Branch is also the one that has the power to make the President choose a Prime Minister.

Congress makes federal law and individuals from Congress can propose a thought for another regulation. This is known as a bill. After both the Senate and the House of Representatives passed the charge, it goes to the President. 

On the condition that the President concurs, they can sign the bill. Then it becomes a law. If the President disagrees, it will be rejected. 

On the off chance that the President vetoes the bill, Congress can choose to cast a ballot again to supersede the veto. Congress can likewise make changes to the bill and send it back to the President for endorsement.

The Judicial Branch

The Judicial Branch of government is responsible for interpreting the constitution and laws of the United States and the individual states. The judicial branch is made up of the Supreme Court and lower courts.

The obligations of the judicial branch incorporate interpreting state regulations, settling legitimate questions, punishing people who disturb the law, and hearing common cases.

The judiciary also protects individual privileges conceded by the state and constitution and determines the responsibility or honesty of those blamed for disregarding the criminal laws of the state. It can also act as a check upon the executive and legislative parts of state government.

How do the branches of government work together?

A government is a regulated political system with a group of people, representing the whole, who is given authority to administer control and rights over a community or a country. A government’s power is divided into three different branches.

The three branches of government are the legislative branch, the executive branch, and the judicial branch. They work together to create a country. 

The legislative branch creates the laws of the land and the executive branch enforces them. The judicial branch interprets and applies the laws of the land.

How does the Constitution create the separation of powers?

The three branches of government are the Executive, Legislative, and Judicial branches. They are the three branches of power and are designed to keep each other in check. 

The separation of powers is a system of checks and balances that the government created to avoid any one of the branches from becoming too powerful. 

The Executive branch is responsible for the day-to-day running of the country. The Legislative branch is responsible for making new laws and passing existing laws. 

The Judicial branch is responsible for interpreting the law. The three branches of government work together to create a country that is ruled by the mandate of the law.


The three branches of government are the legislative, executive, and judicial. These branches are created to make sure that in separating the power of governance in a country, there will be check and balance and most importantly accountability, especially for a democratic country. Each branch has its own abilities and obligations, to guarantee the public authority is successful and peoples’ freedoms are safeguarded. Although they have separate powers and responsibilities, these branches work closely together to make sure that the citizen’s rights and privileges are upheld. The legislative branch is made up of the Congress, House of representatives, and senate which is responsible for making and passing legislation. 

The executive branch is made up of the President, Vice President, and the Cabinet, which are the people who make decisions and carry them out. The judicial branch comprises the Supreme Court, the federal courts, and the state courts, which make final decisions on cases.

Frequently Asked Question (FAQs): What are the 3 branches of government and what do they do?

Which government branch has the most power?

Taking everything into account, The Legislative Branch is the most powerful branch of the government not just due to the powers given to them by the Constitution, but in addition to the inherent powers that Congress has. There is additionally Congress’ capacity to win over the checks and balances that restrict their power.

What branch can declare war?

The Constitution grants Congress the sole power to declare war. For example, the U.S. Congress declared war on numerous occasions, including its first declaration of war in 1812 with Great Britain. The last formal declaration of war was declared and approved by the U.S. Congress during World War II.

Can a Supreme Court justice be removed by the President?

Unless they resign or are impeached and removed from office, Supreme Court justices serve for life. The justification behind their lifetime residency is to empower them to pursue choices liberated from any strain by the executive or legislative branches of government.


Jones, A. T. (2017). Government.

Rose, N. (2000). Government and control. British journal of criminology, 40(2), 321-339.

Johnson Jr, F. M. (1976). The Role of the Judiciary with Respect to the Other Branches of Government. Ga. L. Rev., 11, 455.

Branches of Government | house.gov. Retrieved from https://www.house.gov/the-house-explained/branches-of-government

The Three Branches of Government – American Government and. Retrieved from https://jefferson.kctcs.libguides.com/americangovernment

Three Branches of Government | Harry S. Truman. Retrieved from https://www.trumanlibrary.gov/education/three-branches/three-branches-of-government